It’s the Sickness

You have his eyes, his touch and his smile

But the man I love has been absent now for awhile

I cannot show anger, hurt or especially tears

I am to swallow down the darkest of my fears

On my knees I plead for him to return to me

Now which version is here, don’t know what to believe

My devotion and love in your eyes is clearly worth nothing

But you declare your love undeniable because held in a ring

So I bow my head in attempts to hide the pain

Do my best not to show my eyes drowning in shame

Devastating words, threats and broken promises

But you say it’s not your fault, it’s the sickness

Words of hatred and apathy swim across your lips

He was here but washed away as the bottle tips

Devastating words, threats and broken promises

But you say it’s not your fault, it’s the sickness

You say read this book then you will understand

Pages filled with suck it up and stand by your man

The destructive words are to be ignored and forgiven

Keep up the excuses, smile and just stay hidden

No kindness or empathy is spared for me and I am to be strong

I must enlist in a battle that will endure until one of us is gone

Devastating words, threats and broken promises

But you say it’s not your fault, it’s the sickness

Words of hatred and apathy swim across your lips

He was here but washed away as the bottle tips

Devastating words, threats and broken promises

But you say it’s not your fault, it’s the sickness

Dry your tears and stop being so weak

Shut your mouth, I didn’t say speak

Be a good girl now and do as your told

Who gave permission for you to be so bold

Fix yourself, stand tall and just act right

Just look down as there is no end in sight

Stop thinking, it will do you no good

Listen to me and act as I say you should

Devastating words, threats and broken promises

But you say it’s not your fault, it’s the sickness

Words of hatred and apathy swim across your lips

He was here but washed away as the bottle tips

Devastating words, threats and broken promises

But you say it’s not your fault, it’s the sickness

 

2 thoughts on “It’s the Sickness

Leave a Reply

